BAI picks robust contingents for CWG, Asiad and Thomas & Uber Cup: 14-year-prior Unnati tends to make it to senior group

Unnati Hooda makes it to the Senior Indian team

For the Commonwealth Games, the men’s staff is made up of Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty and B Sumeeth Reddy while PV Sindhu will guide the women’s squad which has Aakarshi Kashyap, Treesa Jolly, Gayatri P and Ashwini Ponappa.

Sumeet Reddy and Ponappa made the lower into the men’s and women’s squads respectively for the Commonwealth Games right after their major-location complete in the blended doubles class.

The 14-year-old teenage sensation from Rohtak Unnati Hooda undoubtedly caught selectors’ eyes as she secured a area for the Asian Online games as perfectly as Uber Cup by ending 3rd in the women’s singles following Kashyap and Ashmita Chaliha, who claimed very first and next positions respectively. Hooda is the youngest Indian badminton participant to be section of the Asian Video games squad.

A 10-member women’s team for the Asian Online games and Uber Cup will consist of PV Sindhu, Kashyap, Chaliha, Hooda together with Leading-3 doubles pairs from the trials-Treesa Jolly-Gayatri P, N Sikki Reddy-Ashwini Ponappa and Tanisha Crasto-Shruti Mishra.

Treesa Jolly (front) Gayatri Gopichand (back)

Treesa Jolly (front) Gayatri Gopichand (again)

Sindhu, Sen, Srikanth and men’s doubles pair of Satwiksairaj and Shetty have been awarded immediate entry into the squads for their world rankings within Best-15. In-type shuttler HS Prannoy has also been incorporated as portion of automatic selection for his regular extraordinary the latest kind at the global circuit.

Priyanshu Rajawat, who claimed the prime place in the men’s singles group, also created his way into the 10-gentlemen contingent for the Asian Online games and Thomas Cup alongside Sen, Srikanth and Prannoy. The workforce also has Satwiksairaj and Shetty and the Prime-2 doubles pairs from the trials-Dhruv Kapila-MR Arjun and Vishnu Vardhan Goud-Krishna Prasad Gariga.

“We are delighted with the power of the selection trials. All the gamers gave anything on the courtroom to receive by themselves a opportunity to stand for the nation. It is fantastic to see substantial-quality level of competition for the positions. I congratulate all the gamers and desire them fantastic luck for their preparations for mega activities,” reported Sanjay Mishra, Basic Secretary of BAI, just after the assortment conference that took spot late on Wednesday night.

“This new format for the trials was produced to give a system where the senior as perfectly as young players can have opportunities and now you can now see the squads are a wonderful combine of youth and encounter and am sure each and every of them will make the most of this possibility and make India happy,” Mishra added.

The trials saw participation of 120 gamers in the five types as the league-cum-spherical robin format tested the skill of the players in every single stage from April 15-20.

Aside from the squads for the a few significant tournaments which are to be held this yr, the BAI also finalised names of 40 players (20 guys and 20 ladies) for the senior national coaching camp and core team for the 2024 Olympic Video games, dependent on players’ positions in trials.

The 32nd version of Thomas Cup and 29th Uber Cup are scheduled in Bangkok from May perhaps 8-15 when the 2022 Commonwealth Online games and 2022 Asian Games will kickstart in Birmingham and Hangzhou respectively from July 28 and September 10.


Commonwealth Video games:

(Men) Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty and B Sumeeth Reddy (Girls) PV Sindhu, Aakarshi Kashyap, Treesa Jolly, Gayatri P, Ashwini Ponappa

Asian Games and Thomas & Uber Cup:

(Adult males) Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, HS Prannoy, Priyanshu Rajawat, Chirag Shetty, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Dhruv Kapila, MR Arjun, Vishnu Vardhan Goud, Krishna Prasad Gariga (Ladies) PV Sindhu, Aakarshi Kashyap, Ashmita Chaliha, Unnati Hooda, Treesa Jolly, Gayatri P, N Sikki Reddy, Ashwini Ponappa, Tanisha Crasto and Shruti Mishra.

Supply: BAI Launch

  • Saina Nehwal decides to skip range trials for CWG, Asian Online games
  • Korea Open 2022: PV Sindhu crashes in straight sets in semis, Srikanth bows out
  • Sindhu vs Se-youthful, Srikanth vs Christie Korea Open 2022 Semifinal: Timing & Stay Streaming data
  • Korea Open up 2022: Sindhu, Srikanth arrive at semifinals doubles pairs crash out
  • Korea Open 2022: Sindhu, Srikanth, Satwik-Chirag enter quarterfinals Lakshya-Malvika bow out
  • Sindhu, Srikanth sail into Korea Open up 2nd spherical
  • Sindhu, Sen to guide Indian challenge in Korea Open up
  • Shuttler Mithun enters ultimate at Orleans Masters Super 100
  • BAI announces collection trials for 2022 Commonwealth Video games and other big tournaments
  • Thomas and Uber Cup 2022: Attract, Teams, Groups and Tournament Start Day
  • India shuttler Ajay Jayaram retires from worldwide badminton
  • Swiss Open up 2022: PV Sindhu beats Thailand’s Busanan Ongbamrungphan to clinch maiden title HS Prannoy loses


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here