Argentina National Football Team

Argentina National Football Team: Match Schedule, Players, Stats

About Argentina National Football Team

The very first match ever recorded for Argentina was against Uruguay, on 20 June 1902. The sport (that was the very first worldwide for sides) occured in Montevideo and Argentina won 6-. Throughout the first many years of its existence, the Argentina national team only performed friendly matches against other South American teams. The reason why with this varied, including lengthy travel occasions between countries and also the interruption of The First World War.

La Selección (national team), also referred to as the Albicelestes (sky blue and whites), has made an appearance in five World Cup finals, such as the first final in 1930, that they lost, 4-2, to Uruguay. Argentina won within their next final in 1978, beating holland, 3-1. Argentina, brought by Diego Maradona won again in 1986, a 3-2 victory over West Germany. Argentina last arrived at the planet Cup final in 2014, where it lost 1- towards the Germany. Before this their last World Cup final is at 1990, also is lost, 1-, to West Germany with a much-disputed penalty. Argentina’s World Cup-winning managers are César Luis Menotti in 1978, and Carlos Bilardo in 1986.

Argentina continues to be very effective within the Copa América, winning it 15 occasions. They also won the FIFA Confederations Cup and also the Kirin Cup, in 1992, the CONMEBOL-UEFA Cup of Champions in 1993 and 2022, and also the Nations’ Cup in 1964. Argentina ‘Olympic’ team (with simply three players well over 23 years old incorporated within the squad) won the Olympic games football tournaments in Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008.

Argentina also won seven from the 18 football competitions in the Pan American Games, winning in 1951, 1955, 1959, 1971, 1995, 2003 and 2019.

In March 2007, Argentina arrived at the top FIFA World Rankings the very first time.

Argentina National Football Team - 21st Century

The Argentina national football team represents Argentina in men’s worldwide football and it is administered through the Argentine Football Association, the governing body for football in Argentina. Argentina’s home stadium is Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti in Buenos Aires.

La Selección (National Team), also referred to as La Albiceleste, has made an appearance in five World Cup finals, such as the first final in 1930, that they lost 4-2 to Uruguay. Argentina won within their next final appearance in 1978, beating holland 3-1 at additional time. Argentina won again in 1986 having a 3-2 victory over West Germany, along with a tournament campaign inspired by their captain Diego Maradona. They provided the planet Cup finals once again in 1990, and lost 1- to West Germany with an 87th minute penalty converted by Andreas Brehme. Argentina, brought by Lionel Messi, made their fifth appearance inside a World Cup final in 2014, again losing to Germany 1- during extra-time. Argentina’s World Cup winning managers are César Luis Menotti in 1978 and Carlos Bilardo in 1986.

Argentina has additionally been very effective within the Copa América, winning it 15 occasions, most lately brought by Lionel Messi in 2021, and therefore are presently tied with Uruguay in many wins. They also won the 1992 FIFA Confederations Cup. Argentina is easily the most effective team within the CONMEBOL-UEFA Cup of Champions, getting won it two times (1993 and 2022). Argentina is renowned for getting rivalries with South america, Uruguay, England, and Germany.

Argentina National Football Team Current Ranking




Argentina National Football Team Captains – Hugo Lloris (Current Captain), Rotation (Previous Captain), Patrice Evra (Ex-Captain) Argentina National Football Team Coaches – Lionel Scaloni (Head Coach), Pablo Aimar (Assistant coach), Martín Tocalli (Goalkeeper coach)

Argentina National Football Team Match Schedule

Tournament Wins

FIFA World Cup – Winners : 1998 UEFA European Championship – Winners : 1984 FIFA Confederations Cup – Winners: 2003 CONMEBOL–UEFA Cup of Champions – Winners : 1985

Argentina play their most matches at River Plate stadium, Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti, even though the team has additionally performed in other venues for example Rosario Central, (throughout the 2010 World Cup qualification) Estadio Único Madre de Ciudades in Santiago del Estero, Boca Juniors’ stadium (La Bombonera) Individuals venues were utilized in some matches from the 2022 World Cup qualification, together with Estadio Mario Alberto Kempes in Córdoba and Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario within the homonymous province.

GEBA Stadium was the venue where Argentina performed their first worldwide matches as local team. The match held on September 13, 1908, for that Copa Newton v. Uruguay includes a historic relevance to be the very first time Argentine used the sunshine blue and white-colored striped jersey, which will be the definitive uniform as much as present days. GEBA seemed to be venue for that Copa Centenario Revolución de Mayo, the very first worldwide South American competition organised in 1910. The Argentina national team performed its last game at GEBA on October 19, 1919, once the squad won the Copa Premier Recognition Argentino after thrashing Uruguay by 6-1.

Other memorable venue for Argentina was Estadio Sportivo Barracas, which holds an essential anecdotal fact in the history on October 2, 1924, when Argentina beat Uruguay 2-1 having a goal converted from a large part kick by forward Cesáreo Onzari. Since that time, an objective like Onzari’s is referred like a Gol olímpico or Olympic goal. Sportivo Barracas was the typical venue for Argentina from 1920 to 1932. The stadium could be later destroyed in 1937.


The audience winners, France, qualified directly for that World Cup finals, as the runners-up, Ukraine, advanced towards the second round (play-offs).

The club is roughly believed to become worth $5.1billion by 2022. According to records, Real Madrid has 35 La Liga trophies and 14 Champions League trophies to their name. They has created exceptional sportsmen like Karim Benzema, Sergio Ramos, and Raul.

Possibly the greatest team in European football nowadays. Los Blancos have won the league 33 occasions, the cup 19 occasions, the Supercup 11 occasions, the Champions League 13 occasions, the UEFA Cup 2 occasions, the UEFA Supercup 4 occasions, Club World Championship 7 occasions and also the League Cup.

The 32 countries qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup are Argentina, Brazil, England, France, Spain, Belgium, Portugal, Germany, The Netherlands, Uruguay, Croatia, Denmark, Mexico, the United States, Senegal, Wales, Poland, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Switzerland, Ghana, Korea Republic, Cameroon, Serbia, Canada, Costa Read More…

2022 is really a World Cup year, but we’ll have to hang about until the wintertime before we have seen the greatest worldwide soccer competition take center stage. The 2022 FIFA World Cup can get going ahead in Qatar in November, using the opening match looking for November. 21 and also the final scheduled for 12 ,. 18. Because it stands, all 32 spots happen to be filled and qualification continues to be completed.

Football News